Click to escape. Subject to Crown Copyright
Category: Badges

Click to go up one level

Subject to Crown Copyright The Royal Australian Regiment. This is the premier Infantry Corps Regiment and with the SAS Regiment makes up the 'sharp edge' of the Australian Army. The traditional Infantry colour is red (for blood) but the various Battalions each have their own colour.

The Australian Regiment was formed with 3 Battalions created from the 65th, 66th and 67th Battalions AIF in Japan in 1948. The 'Royal' was added in 1949.

At the height of the Viet Nam War there were 9 Battalions in the RAR. Currently there are 6.

1st Armoured Regt. (1ARMD)

2nd Cavalry Regt. (2CAV)

3rd Cavalry Regt. (3CAV)

1st/15th Royal NSW Lancers (RNSWL)

2nd/14th Qld Mounted Infantry (QMI)

3rd/9th South Australian  Mounted Rifles (SAMR)

4th/19th Prince of Wales Light Horse (POWLH)

8th/13th Victorian Mounted Rifles (VMR)

10th Light Horse (WA)

12th/16th Hunter River Lancers (HRL)

Royal Australian Regiment (RAR)

Special Air Service Regiment (SAS or SASR)

Royal Queensland Regiment. (RQR)

Royal New South Wales Regiment (RNSWR)

Royal Victoria Regiment (RVR)

Royal Sth Australia Regiment (RSAR)

Royal Western Australia Regiment (RWAR)

Royal Tasmania Regiment (RTR)

Pilbara Regiment (WA based)

51 Far North Qld Regiment (FNQR)

Pilbara Regiment Version 1 Pilbara Regiment  Version 2

1st Commando Regiment (1CDO)

Norforce (NT based) (+ collars & title)


Statistics : Over 35 million page visitors since  11 Nov 2002  



 Search   Help     Guestbook   Get Updates   Last Post    The Ode      FAQ     Digger Forum

Click for news

Digger History:  an unofficial history of the Australian & New Zealand Armed Forces